Laoang, Northern Samar

Laoang is a 2nd class municipality in the province of Northern Samar, Philippines. According to the 2007 census, it has a population of 56,196 people. It is the economic, educational, socio-cultural and government center of the 2nd congressional district of the province.


Municipal Mayor
Hon. Madeleine Mendoza-Ong
Municipal Vice Mayor
Hon. Fred P. Deananeas
Sangguniang Bayan Members

  • Hon. Darwin A. Aguilar
  • Hon. Ben E. Pinca
  • Hon. Gregorio A. Sobito
  • Hon. Socrates S. Adora
  • Hon. Harris Christopher M. Ongchuan
  • Hon. Jaime K. Taco
  • Hon. Democrito V. Aquino
  • Hon. Simon E. Dulay,Jr

ABC Federation President
Hon. Juan A. Baluyot
SK Federation President
Hon. Ma. Erelyn A. Accion


The municipality lies on the eastern side of the province. Bordering Pambujan in the west, Palapag facing east and the municipality of Catubig as its southern neighbor while the San Bernardino Strait stretches in the north. Laoang is geographically divided into three. The first are the lowlands connected to the mainland Samar Island that serves as the mouth of the Catubig River. The second is the Laoang Island itself in which the poblacion is situated and the third is the Batag Island which forms as a natural barrier from the waters of the Pacific Ocean.


The municipality boasts for having three elementary school districts(two in the poblacion area), 13 secondary schools including one private-sectarian high school (Colegio de Sta. Teresita) and a laboratory high school. The University of Eastern Philippines maintains one satellite branch.


Majority of the populace are Roman Catholic and is very religious. It has the most number(37) of ordained presbyters (including five monsignors) of the Roman Catholic Church in the whole region with the exception of the municipality of Villareal, Samar.


Several festivities are celebrated throughout the year. In the 4th Sunday of January, they celebrate the feast of Sto.Niño or the Child Jesus. Flores De Mayo, like any other Philippine town, is also done in May and the town’s fiesta is on September 28–29 in honor of its patron St.Michael the Archangel. Its people shares its rich oral/written literature such as surumatanons and is handed down from the earliest inhabitants to the new generation. Also popular are the kundimans in Waray version, sidays and individual compositions. One of this is the “Laoang Sunset” or “Sidsid San Adlaw Sa Laoang” composed by the late Bernardino Muncada which portrays the beauty of the town.


  • Batag Island Lighthouse
  • Onay Beach
  • Kalakhaan Islet
  • St. Michael the Archangel Parish
  • Pasyao Cliff
  • Almuraya Fortress
  • Grand Cañon


Laoang is politically subdivided into 56 barangays.

  • Abaton
  • Aguadahan
  • Aroganga
  • Atipolo
  • Bawang
  • Baybay (Pob.)
  • Binatiklan
  • Bobolosan
  • Bongliw
  • Burabud
  • Cabadiangan
  • Cabagngan
  • Cabago-an
  • Cabulaloan
  • Cagaasan
  • Cagdara-o
  • Cahayagan
  • Calomotan
  • Candawid
  • Cangcahipos
  • Canyomanao
  • Catigbian
  • E. J. Dulay
  • G. B. Tan
  • Gibatangan
  • Guilaoangi (Pob.)
  • Inamlan (Gapas-gapas)
  • La Perla
  • Langob
  • Lawaan
  • Little Venice (Pob.)
  • Magsaysay
  • Marubay
  • Mualbual
  • Napotiocan (Salvacion)
  • Oleras
  • Onay (Doña Luisa)
  • Palmera
  • Pangdan
  • Rawis
  • Rombang
  • San Antonio (Son-og)
  • San Miguel Heights (Pob.)
  • Sangcol
  • Sibunot
  • Simora
  • Sto. Niño (Calintaan) Pob.
  • Suba
  • Tan-awan
  • Tarusan
  • Tinoblan
  • Tumaguingting (Pob.)
  • Vigo
  • Yabyaban (San Vicente)
  • Yapas
  • Talisay


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


9,375 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>